“Stay hungry, stay foolish” – Steve Jobs

October 6, 2011 at 9:56 am (Food for Thought, loves and friends, Quotes and such)

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.” – Steve Jobs

There are hundreds of great Steve Jobs quotes to sift through and choose to live by.  I especially like this one, because it is something I have constantly tried to remind myself to do.  As a child and later as a young adult, I learned to abide by the rules, but also knew when was a good time – for me – to break them.  Yes, this sent me to the Principal’s office, got me “grounded”, and even resulted in a couple of “F’s” (REAL F’s, not “Asian F’s” aka A-‘s), but in the end the opportunity cost was worth the trouble I got into.  I’m a good kid by many standards, but the mistakes I have made were because I allowed myself to not try to live my parent’s dreams or submit to their standards of what a good little Asian child should do.  It took them awhile (and a little heartache) for them to realize that even if they say “No”, I have to make my own mistakes to learn from.  The best thing my family has ever let me do was take my chances and get hurt.

Although my tenacity to disregard others’ imposing opinions has wavered here and there, I look to this quote to reinforce the idea that I can stay true to myself.  Stay hungry, stay foolish.

 

Leave a Reply

