OSAMA BIN LADEN IS DEAD

May 3, 2011 at 9:50 pm (Anything and Everything)

After nearly a decade of trillions of dollars spent and thousands of lives taken, the world’s most wanted criminal, Osama bin Laden was brought down by U.S. Seals on Sunday evening (PST).

But what I found very intriguing was HOW people found out.  You could SEE the news traveling through the air. People finding out through phone applications, text messages, phone calls, emails, news alerts, online, TV, radio, etc etc the methods go on and on!  It amazes me how technology has evolved to give us news INSTANTLY.  You could hear the news spreading. My friend in Mountain View was jogging through her neighborhood and she found out the news through people in houses screaming and running to turn on the TV.

I personally found out through my iPhone’s Associated Press application (breaking news alerts), and it was followed by my CNN news app, and even my ESPN breaking news app (which usually only delivers me the latest sports news).  Immediately I turned on the tube, and thought to myself: ‘huh, is that how it works now? I depend on my phone to give me the most breaking news, but I still lean towards the steadfast and decades-old source to deliver the final news – the television.

Interesting how things have changed, yet stay the same. So now I ask you, how did YOU find out about the death of Osama bin Laden??

Leave a Reply

