home sweet home?

August 20, 2010 at 3:56 pm (Food for Thought, loves and friends)

so my Friday afternoon question for you is, when does home become a HOME?

I’ve lived in Los Angeles for about a month and a half now, and I don’t think it has hit me yet that this is, and will be, my new home for the next few years.  Maybe it’s because I used to come down to LA a few times a year to visit my best friend Kimmie, and because I am currently living on Kimmie’s couch, it still feels like a (elongated) vacation in LA.  Maybe it’s because I am a NorCal Bay Area girl through and through, and at heart I still haven’t let go of my Bay Area bubble. Maybe when I move into my own apartment at the end of the month I will finally feel more at peace with Los Angeles.

For whatever reason, I am not comfortable with calling Los Angeles my true home yet.  When I tell co-workers “I’m going to be at home this weekend!”, it still represents Mountain View/Santa Clara/Palo Alto/San Francisco – and that makes me happy.

🙂 I can’t wait to be home again!

Leave a Reply

