my sentimental heart

June 13, 2010 at 5:25 pm (Quotes and such)

Mama and I were having a John Cusack marathon (omg, 1990 John Cusack is so so so hot!), and this was THE CUTEST montage from High Fidelity:

Laura: So what did you want to talk to me about?

Rob (John Cusack): Um, I’m gonna talk to you about whether or not…you want to get married to me?

Laura: [Laughing]

Rob: I’m serious.

Laura: Yes, I know.

Rob: Well, thanks a fucking bunch!

Laura: I’m sorry. Two days ago you were making tapes for that girl from The Reader

Rob: Yeah

Laura: Well, forgive me if I don’t think of you as the world’s safest bet.

Rob: Would you marry me if I was?

Laura: What brought all this on?

Rob: I don’t know…I’m just sick of thinking about it all the time.

Laura: About what?

Rob: This stuff. Love and…settling down and marriage, you know? I just wanted to think about something else.

Laura: [sarcastically] I’ve changed my mind. That’s the most romantic thing I’ve ever heard. I will, I do.

Rob: Just shut up. I’m trying to explain, okay? That other girl, or other women, whatever – I mean, I was thinking that they’re just fantasies.  You know? And they always seem really great because there are never any problems. And if there are, they are cute problems like, you know, we bought each other the same Christmas present or she wants to go see a movie that I’ve already seen, you know? And then I come home, and you and I have real problems and you don’t even want to see the movie I want to see, period. There’s no lingerie and –

Laura: I have lingerie.

Rob: Yes, you do. You have great lingerie. But you also have the cotton underwear that’s been washed a thousand times, and it’s hanging on the thing, and—And they have it too. It’s just I don’t have to see it because it’s not in the fantasy. Do you understand? I’m tired of the fantasy because it doesn’t really exist. And there are never really any surprises, and it never really – Delivers?

Laura: Delivers.

Rob: Right. And I’m tired of it. I’m tired of everything else for that matter. But I don’t ever seem to get tired of you. So—

Laura: I think I know what you mean.

Leave a Reply

