white christmas

December 18, 2009 at 10:18 pm (Food for Thought, loves and friends, traveling) (, , , )

Watching Christmas movies makes me nostalgic because, for some odd reason, they love to contain scenes from my favorite city, London.  It’s crazy to think that one year ago I was still living in London, enjoying the beauty of the Winter festivals in the parks and streets, basking in the beautiful Christmas lights and displays in the Oxford Circus shopping district, and experiencing my first corporate Christmas parties (miss you Digitas buddies!).

Anyways, I just spent an amazing week in Vail, CO with James on his Kellogg ski trip.  Stayed in a 3 bedroom condo at the Vail Cascade Resort with the funniest bunch of guys, snowboarded 3 days and skied one day on some of the best mountains in the world (although there wasn’t enough snow to open up the back bowls), and took part in theme parties reminiscent of the ones I experience during the school year (Kellogg students reliving their college days hardcore).  The scenery was so beautiful and white (AND COLD!).  While riding one of the shuttle buses from the slopes, I realized that I have never experienced a “White Christmas” before.  Being from California, and in particular the Silicon Valley, we don’t get snow!  Vail had been as cold as 0 degrees, and during my descent down the pilot announced that it was 63 degrees in the Bay Area.  And driving home from the San Jose airport, “White Christmas” by Bing Crosby came on the radio, which made think about how much I’m missing out by not having snow during Christmas time.  The holiday that I love more than my own birthday, it’s magical luster lying in the whiteness and snow that is constantly sung about and shown on TV and in movies, what am I missing out on by living somewhere that doesn’t provide the Christmas atmosphere that makes this time of year so special?

1 Comment

  1. Mark Harris said,

    HI Cheryl, if you love London, then take a look at these photos and cards at http://www.shenerhathaway.com. He goes out in the early hours and snaps iconic shots of London.

Leave a Reply

