scarves

November 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm (Anything and Everything, Food for Thought, traveling) (, , , )

Life can be segmented into phases. Phases that define the mood and moments we are experiencing at the time. Obsessions and cravings that come and go with time.

Tonight I put on a scarf for the first time this season to prevent the nippy weather from intruding as I walked to the Alpha Kappa Psi Kappa Pledge Class date auction (okay, it’s 57 degrees outside and I consider that nippy. What can I say, I’m a California girl born and raised).  I have a whole drawer in my closet dedicated to scarves. Yes, I really have that many of them.  From flashy neons to earthy reds and browns, I have quite the collection of scarves thanks to my scarf phase I began at the start of college.  For awhile my eyes were peeled for cute scarves at the mall and at little boutiques. Do I really NEED all of these scarves? Probably not, because Cali doesn’t really get to the point where wearing scarves is a necessity.  I have some scarves I like more than others; one of my all-time favorites is the one my friend Addi made me early on freshman year – it’s SO SOFT!  I think one of the reasons I like it so much is because I know a lot of care went into it; it’s a pretty nice scarf.

But that is not the scarf I donned tonight. No, the first scarf I picked up out of my scarf drawer was red, maroon, and orange stripped scarf I purchased in London when my British Life and Business class got an amazing tour of the magnificent Arsenal Futbol Stadium (I sat in the seat David Beckham sits in! and the head coach!).  It made me so nostalgic for the London days of one year ago when I wore scarves and gloves everyday not because I wanted to look fashionable (although, I did feel more like a Londoner doing so) but because it was so cold it was a necessity (for me, anyhow. i get cold easily, and London was COLD for me).  Someday I wish to return to London, maybe perhaps even to live there again.  Is this just another phase for me, to want to go back and relive London, or will I always be a Cali girl? Who knows.

Leave a Reply

