October reflections

October 18, 2009 at 6:08 pm (Anything and Everything, Food for Thought, loves and friends, Quotes and such, School, traveling) (, , , )

Slightly disappointed in myself for not keeping this blog up to date.  There has been a plethora of happenings since my last post, and now I can’t even document them because I have forgotten what I wanted to post!  Anywho, it’s mid-October now, and I’m wondering how time had passed so fast.  Summer “vacation” is finally over (although you cannot call it a pure vacation because I was working 40 hour weeks, going to school, and juggling a social life at the same time).  School is now back in session – actually, it is basically half over since it is the start of week 5 of 10.

SENIOR YEAR

The last year of college has begun, and I am having mixed feelings.  Part of me is trying to enjoy every second of it (as illustrated in my overzealous first two weeks of long nights and memorable moments, quotes, and friends).  Another part of me is just itching to get out of here, to go explore the “real world”.  Time after time my alumni friends have told me “you’re so lucky to still be in school” and I know I am.  Being in school is actually fun and relaxing.  You get to see and hang out with people your own age, get to sit and just listen to lectures for hours on end, and learn about things that actually interest you (given that you have chosen majors and minors that you enjoy, like i did – Marketing and International Business).  A lot of my friends who have recently graduated are still looking for jobs, and as I sit in school, I hope that I do not end up like that (sorry if you’re reading this unemployed buddies 😦 I’m rooting for ya!) Yet, there is a certain urge to just be out there in the workforce; to be able to go to work, put in my time, and to come home WITHOUT thinking about all of the homework that still awaits me. UGH.

This quarter could have been my last.  (I have now decided to stay one more quarter to pursue more classes that interest me but I never had the chance to take) I finished up my marketing major last Spring quarter, and now I am working towards finishing up my International Business minor (World Geography and Cross-cultural Psychology – TWO OF THE MOST INTERESTING CLASSES EVER!)  I am also taking my third religion (before my second religion course – oh the joys of going to a religious college), and taking my Capstone class (aka Senior thesis-type class that all seniors in the Business School must take to graduate).  My courses this quarter are making me very anxious to get a job OUTSIDE of NorCal, where I have prolonged my stay by 4 years already by choosing to go to Santa Clara University 15 minutes from home).  My interests that I’d love to explore are the Public Relations and Advertising/Branding industries, and the main hubs for this industry are Los Angeles, New York, and London – all places that I love (minus LA solely because of traffic).  My world geography class has strengthened my love for travel and I earnestly hope that whatever job I end up landing has some opportunities to travel.  Alas, I am still trying to work out all of my goals, and until further notice, I cannot positively say this is what I want to pursue (although I am getting closer to figuring it all out).

CALIFORNIA LOVING

What I love about California the most is the weather.  I don’t think there really is any place like California.  It’s not TOO hot, although it definitely has it’s warm days (I was inside the office safe from the smoldering heat anyways :)) The fall and winters are generally dry, and if it were to rain I know EXACTLY how much rain we’re going to get and how long the rain is going to last. For example, last week we had our first severe storm.  It lasted ONE day! One, horribly wet, blustery, miserable day but still – ONE DAY. Haha.  We don’t get snow, except for in the mountains (and even then not so much), and in the winter I can still survive with just two layers – no gloves and scarves necessary like when I lived in London.   So why do I want to leave? Well, the answer simply is that everyone should.  It gives you more perspective on life outside your sunny California bubble.  Living in London for 4 months taught me that.  I want to see the world.  I haven’t forgotten that one of the top things I want to do before I die is to visit all 7 continents.  But this goes back to me getting a job after graduating from college.

Side note: yesterday (10/17 at 5:04pm) was the 20th anniversary of the Loma Prieta earthquake that shook the Bay, even collapsing the Bay Bridge.  I know many of you out-of-state’rs are deathly afraid of earthquakes, but I personally think that they are a wonderful (although serious and definitely can be scary) touch to what makes California special.

SENTIMENTALS

Ok, cheesy, I know.  I just watched Ghosts from Girlfriends Past, and there was one quote that really stood out to me.  This is because I have recently experienced this (maybe still am).

“Someone once told me that the power in all relationships lies with whoever cares less, and he was right. But power isn’t happiness, and I think that maybe happiness comes from caring more about people rather than less”

Alright, I think I’ll end on this note 🙂 This is a long post, but also long awaited. Til next time, you stay classy Santa Clara.

1 Comment

  1. addidesu said,

    Ditto on the senior year (weren’t we just having this conversation when we were seniors in high school??)….I’m glad that you’re sticking around to take classes you’ll love though! It breaks my heart to hear people are going to graduate early and leave! Take whatever you like and LEARN AND LOVE!!!

    ❤ that quote…makes me think too.

Leave a Reply

