September 11th: A Day to Remember

September 11, 2009 at 10:25 am (Anything and Everything)

Where were you when it happened?

It was 8 years ago today that the terrorists attacks occurred.   For the 2,973 innocent victims lost in New York, Pennsylvania and the Pentagon, this post is for you.

God Bless America

God Bless America

I was walking to the Orchestra room to drop off my violin before heading to my 8th grade homeroom class when my friend Steven Quistad came up to me and asked me if I had heard what happened earlier that morning.  I actually didn’t really know what the World Trade Center was, except that it was in New York. As we entered our first class, coverage was already playing on our classroom television and we all went to our seats, sitting and watching in utter silence and disbelief.

Being from the West Coast, I didn’t personally know anyone who was killed or hurt in the attacks, but as news of people from the Bay Area who were either on the planes or visiting there when it happened started coming in, it became more and more surreal.  It’s crazy to think that these people thought what they were doing was justified.  It’s crazy to watch the videos and to think this is just like what you see in movies…but it wasn’t a movie at all – it was REAL.
My thoughts and love go out to those affected by the events 8 years ago.

Leave a Reply

