The Death of an Icon + my first win

June 26, 2009 at 1:28 am (Food for Thought, Working Hard (or hardly working?))

Yesterday, Michael Jackson passed away at the age of 50.  I am still in shock.  I didn’t grow up with him – that was my parents’ experience – yet he still touched me with a lasting effect.  Actually, he touched everyone – no matter the color of your skin, the age of your body, or the gender you connect yourself with.  Michael Jackson was one of the most influential icons of the world.  On the radio they were even comparing him against the ranks of Elvis Presley and the Beatles. Movin’ 99.7 was playing Michael Jackson tracks all day long and using personal Michael Jackson anecdotes from listeners instead of commercial breaks.

The death of Michael Jackson also overshadowed the death of Farrah Fawcett, who was also a famous model and the original Charlie’s Angel.  She died yesterday after fighting with cancer.  Larry King Live was going to feature a whole show in tribute to Farrah, with all of her closest friends an family to talk in it…but with the news of Michael’s death, it was quickly cancelled to have a tribute to Michael Jackson.  It’s weird, Larry King first interviewed Michael when he was just 9 years old and he was amazing to have on the show.

My mom was the first person to tell me the news via text.  When I got home from work she started telling me about my childhood Michael Jackson stories.  I guess my favorite song when I was ~8 years old was Billie Jean and I would sing it/hum it all the time until my mom had to explain the context of the song to me to make me stop.  I also remember trying to learn the Thriller dance because I thought it was the coolest dance ever, but I was always too scared to watch the video for very long because the monsters would freak me out.  It’s remarkable how Michael has touched generation after generation, as I know he will continue to do after eath.  RIP MJ.  You may be gone, but you will never be forgotten.

On a slightly lighter note, I won my first raffle ever today at the Intern Kickoff Luncheon – a 4gb iPod shuffle!  That beats my (first generation) 2gb iPod Nano! It looks like small black piece of plastic, and is smaller than a USB. I for sure am going to lose this. It’s already a given. 😦 But hey, I finally won something! My luck is getting better already.

Leave a Reply

