words over numbers

June 4, 2009 at 12:31 pm (Food for Thought, School) (, , , , , , , )

This week has been plagued by papers.  I had my OMIS 108 final paper, my MKTG 182 Southgate Mall Case Study, my MKTG 183 Twitter Case presentation and research paper, and my COMM 2 Content Analysis research paper.  Not to mention I voluntarily proofread my friend’s and little sister’s English papers.

THANK GOD I am rhetorically talented. It’s funny how your brain functions and learns to specialize in specific areas.  I used to be ridiculously proud that I was competent in basically all subject matters (this is way back in the day).  I felt on top of the world, I could do anything if I put my mind to it.  I remember the good ol days where I was in Math Counts (math club), the Book Club, and Web Girls (this one I was forced into by my IT-centered mother).  Then time passed.  I now realize that my brain capacity has deteriorated in the sense that I am no longer as talented as I once was.  My mind has found its niche with words, and has specialized in writing.  I’m not horrible with numbers, its just not my thing.

The reason for this post: I just pumped out a 9-page content analysis paper in 2.5 hours and it’s some good sh*t. Thank god I’m rhetorically talented.

Leave a Reply

