Pomp and Circumstance

May 27, 2009 at 9:00 am (Food for Thought, School) (, , , , , , )

It’s crazy how fast time goes by. I feel like it was just a few weeks ago that I was sitting in my middle school auditorium hearing Pomp and Circumstance play from our mediocre band/orchestra as I walked proudly as one of the few valedictorians of the Graham Middle School Class of 2002.  Then, it feels like yesterday that I led my row down the bleachers of my high school football stadium to receive our high school diplomas (whatever happened to that thing…).  Mountain View High School Class of 2006 – probably one of the best years of my life.

I sit here, and somehow I forcibly recognize that it’s almost that time again. Almost that time to get dressed in gowns you will only wear once in your life and prepare myself to hear my name, smile for the camera, and realize how grown up I am now.  It’s crazy how time flies by so fast.

I’m done with my degree, Marketing major and International Business minor, after the Fall Quarter 2009.  I know I’m not going to graduate until Winter quarter 2010, but it feels ridiculous that I am almost done. A senior. Class of 2010 – when I said that to myself as a kid, it felt like an eternity.  Anything past 2000 felt unreal and almost impossible (Do you remember the scare of Y2K?).  I’m technically 21, the prime time age of my life, yet I don’t feel like it’s real.  It’s hard to believe that I grew up so quickly, that all of this is really happening. The “real world” is so close, and scarier than ever. I’ve been independent in my own mind for awhile now, but am I really ready to fleet the nest, the security of home and financial support?

CRAZINESS: I was browsing my old Xanga blog that I kept in high school, and here’s what I found. It’s crazy how fast time goes by.

“My first day of COLLEGE was this past Monday, September 18th, 2006, and to tell you the truth, i really really felt like i didnt belong at this school at all. I’ve never NOT had friends every which way i turned. People seemed so hostile, and there isn’t an asian in sight (not to be racist or discriminating or ANYTHING). But it’s the second day already, and i’ve had STEVE NASH (MVP of the NBA) and BEN LEE (some Australian singer) come to my school to talk/perform for us and that was THE SHITTTTTT. Steve Nash is an Alumni from SCU and it was his first time ever coming back to talk to us so that was pretty AWESOME, i must say. The Ben Lee concert was actually my first concert EVER and that was also AWESOME cuz we got to get REALLY close to him. The best thing yet is that i’ve finally made some friends, and my roommate is amazingly friendly. Parties here aren’t that bad either. they just get broken up REALLY EARLY. stupid cops. But alas, i must start my homework because i have yet again started another year of school.

I wish all of you who are returning to school a GREAT year of learning, sharing, and memory making! For all of the new college-goers like moi, GOOD LUCK!!!! It only gets better. =)”

Things have definitely changed.  Thank you Santa Clara University for changing me.

Leave a Reply

